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Step-By-Step Guide

understanding media terms

It’s best to start by contacting local or regional media representatives for specific input on the best options in your market. Here are the basic things you’ll need to know going into that discussion.

Reach: the potential number of people who could see your ad. A newspaper or magazine will have a fixed circulation, but may boast a higher reach through “pass along” or shared readership.

Frequency: the number of times the ad will appear. Increasing frequency increases the reach.

Impressions: the number of opportunities a customer has to receive your message. Impressions multiply through reach and frequency. Print mediums usually deliver maximum impressions because they are kept and read more than once or are passed along to other readers.

Cost per thousand (CPM): a unit for measuring a medium’s cost efficiency. A CPM figure reflects the unit cost of delivering 1,000 consumer impressions. The lower the figure, the better. For example if your ad costs $5,000 and the publication you run in has a circulation of 50,000, the CPM is $100 (media cost/circulation divided by 1,000).

Knowing your product, the target audience and the best way to reach them is essential to the success of your promotion. The key to success is planning. We recommend coming up with a comprehensive plan for advertising that includes setting goals, establishing a strategy, scheduling and budgeting for a year ahead and tracking results.

 

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Print Advertising

Print advertising is one of the best ways to direct your message to your target audience. Why? Because customers hold onto publications, read them more than once and pass them on to others. Even in an ever increasing electronic age, newspaper, magazine and even phone directories continue to be effective.

There are two ways you can create customized ds:

1. Depending on the level of graphics oriented applications, like Quark and Photo Shop, you have on
your computer, you can create the ads yourself or
2. Simply send the Quark template and photo library and your copy and logo to a local design or
advertising shop and have them put the ad together. You might even be able to get one of the publications you are placing the ad in to help with production.

You can also ask your local (Chevron) (Texaco) business manager or representative for a CD with all these materials on it to take to your designer or advertising firm.

 

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It’s as easy as 1-2-3

You will notice that there are several different layouts for each of the 3 ad sizes. We have done this to give you some flexibility in choosing the style layout that best suits your ad situation.

The first step after selecting a size and style of ad is writing the special promotional or services copy. These templates are set up for a max word counts for each size ad:

Full page format – Headline = 10 to 16 words, body copy = 75 to 80 words
Half page format – Headline = 8 to 14 words, body copy = 65 to 75 words
One-third page – Headline = 5 to 7 words, body copy = 70 to 80 words

This copy should tell potential customers what you want them to know about your business and why they should chose you over your competitors. Remember to keep messaging simple. This could include:

• a description of who you are
• what you are selling
• how your customers will benefit from your product or service
• what, if any, special promotion you’re offering
• where to find you

You should create this copy in a word program. You or your design firm will cut out the place holder text we have the templates and paste in your new copy. If your word count is significantly less than the recommended maximum you can set it in a larger font point size, set the headline in a larger point size or make the photo of your logo bigger.

Next if you selected a format that includes a photo, you must choose a photo from our library or one in your personal collection.

In any case, we recommend you have a local professional photographer come in and shoot several basic images every FBO should have:

1. Overall facilities exterior shot with some sort of action and activities going on
2. A personality shot of the staff in action serving your customers or pilots
3. An interior shot featuring a main lobby or maintenance area that is unique to your operation

These templates have been set up to fairly standard ad sizes. However they will need to be resized to fit the specific specifications you get from your local publication.

Lastly, when your design or ad firm has put together the first round of the layout you need to review it. Ask your advertising or design firm for a print out or PDF of the final layout. You need to proof read the copy and make sure all other elements are in the correct position. If there are changes you should request a final print out to sign off as release for inserting into the publication.

 

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